Life’s A Mystery


Well life has been a little hectic since I started school again on Monday which is why I haven’t posted in a while. I really was not at all excited to start this last semester. Normally I’m ready for new classes and new activities, but this time I just was not feeling it. I’m having a really hard time getting back into the swing of things. I think it’s because we only had a 2 week winter break which is extremely short. I’m also taking a lot of classes that I just need to graduate and I’m not really interested in so I’ve been feeling quite apathetic.

Long story short it was a rough week. The only good thing that happened was S rekindling our friendship. It’s finally feeling normal again now that she’s broken up with Bryan. Anyways, on Monday I found out that I didn’t get into Teach for America. I had a bit of a hard time handling it since I’m not really used to rejection (well, rejection in my professional life). So now I need to figure out what I’m going to do once I graduate and I’m having a really hard time. I’m saddled with a lot of debt which doesn’t really give me many options. I’m also 19 and have absolutely no idea what I want out of life. So if anyone out there has any thoughts please let me know. I’m at a loss.

I also got my infertility test results. All my hormone levels are normal which was unexpected and extremely frustrating. They still have no idea what’s up and I can’t really do anything while I’m at school because my health insurance doesn’t cover anywhere in State College. The only issue they know I have is borderline high cholesterol (214). This makes me furious. My doctor chided me and lectured me on eating healthy and exercising. I am the healthiest eater I know. I only eat whole grains. I eat organic. I eat two servings of fruit and three servings of vegetables each day. I only eat chicken and turkey and I also don’t consume anything that has corn syrup or hydrogenated oils. AND I work out 4-6 times a week. Yet I’m the college student with high cholesterol. Not. Fair.

Well that’s all the important stuff for now. I’ll try and start writing more soon. I just need to get adjusted to this semester…and figure out my life.

2 thoughts on “Life’s A Mystery

  1. Regarding the cholesterol. It’s all a ratio, and if your HDL and LDL ratio is good, that’s more important. But they have done studies that looking at the breakdown of the LDL is important, because it’s really only the VLDL that’s really the one that will cause problems later on. Without all of those levels, it’s hard to analyze your cholesterol. Mine was 204 a few years ago and it was like, 197 last time I got it checked. I eat like a champion. Also, grains are what raises the VLDL, which is the bad cholesterol. So eating grains at all can raise that.

    As for the Teach for America, I would TRY not to take it so hard. You’re very young. And apparently, as told to me by my friend who is almost done with chiropractor school, Obama passed a law that now you only pay a percentage of what you make, so you don’t have a set amount annually on your student loans. Gives you some leeway (I think it’s 10%).

    If that is the case, have you thought about the Peace Corps? I don’t know what your major is, so I don’t have many other ideas, but it’ll work out. Life has a way of doing that.

  2. A good friend of mine wanted badly to move abroad and teach in Japan. He was unable to make that work, but he ended up landing a job as a English teacher in Korea. You may not get all the way to TFA, but you may get close. Keep trying, and don’t be afraid to look at alternatives.

Leave a Reply

