Love At First Sight…. (Yeah, Right)


I saw Les Miserables tonight. It was everything I hoped it would be and more. I’m not really sure how some people didn’t like it. The movie basically wrenched at my heartstrings the entire time. Reminded me that I actually do still have a soul and some emotions left inside me.

My one huge issue with the story is the whole love at first sight thing. Maybe I’m a complete cynic at this point, but I think love at first sight is BS. You can’t love somebody you’ve never talked to. They call that stirring inside when you see someone you’re attracted to lust. It’s just evolution biochemically manipulating you into making babies. I wish they would tell all the teenage girls that so they don’t fall in love with the first guy that makes eyes at them.

I don’t know where all of these romantic love stories come from. I’m 99.9% convinced that romance is as much of a fairy tale as unicorns. I suppose I’m speaking from the extremely bitter side of myself that has been involved with one to many douchebags. I would not be at all opposed to someone with a Y chromosome changing my mind. However, for the time being I remain thoroughly unconvinced that there exists a love like Marius and Cosette.

One thought on “Love At First Sight…. (Yeah, Right)

  1. Personally, I don’t believe in love at first sight. At least for me, anyway. A big part of my attraction to women is their personality. Without learning that, there’s no way for me to be able to fall for them.

Leave a Reply

