New Year’s Eve Dilemma


I know a lot of people have already rung in the New Year. I, however, live on the Eastern seaboard of the United States and it is only 3 pm.  I have a decision to make. I got invited to a New Year’s Eve party that is being hosted by a girl I worked with over the summer. She’s really cool and I enjoy hanging out with her. The thing about it is that the party is about an hour away from where I live. I also would not know anyone except for her.

Since it’s so far and I’m sure I will be drinking because it’s New Year’s Eve, I would have to spend the night. She already said it was cool if I crash. I’m an introvert through and through though. The idea of going to a party where I know nobody scares the shit out of me. It would be much easier for me to just stay in my comfort zone and chill at my house. I’d probably enjoy myself. I never mind being alone. But that’s so predictable. I know exactly what will happen if I do that.

I guess it’s just the whole being stuck there and not knowing anyone thing that’s worrying me the most. I pretty much can’t leave after I have anything to drink. I’ll be DUI if I have any alcohol in my blood due to the fact that I’m under 21 (for all of my followers from elsewhere, the drinking age in the US is 21). Normally it’s not a big deal, but the cops are everywhere on New Year’s Eve. I completely understand that and I would never drive drunk. It’s just frustrating that I’ll have to take such a big risk if I want to go home after having one or two drinks.

One thought on “New Year’s Eve Dilemma

  1. I’m wondering what you did in the end. If I’d seen this post on the night, I’d have suggested that you could have gone to the party and not drunk any alcohol at all, although that might not exactly be fun for you when everyone else is getting tanked up.

Leave a Reply

