Blogging Conundrums


Sometimes I start writing a post. Then I look at it and think, “This is a complete waste of words on a page. No one should ever read this.” I then proceed to delete everything and stare at the Add New Post screen. I watch that small line blink, and struggle to think of anything worth while to write about.

This actually happens to me often. It’s part of the reason I left blogging for so long. Writer’s block just kept happening to me more and more frequently. Part of my problem is that I don’t usually realize the worth of what I’m writing. According to WordPress, some of you guys’ favorite posts have been ones that I didn’t think were anything special. In fact, I normally get the best response when I’m writing from the heart and not actively trying to say anything decent or thought provoking.

The problem is my heart isn’t exactly a happy place right now. I don’t want to be the blogger that’s dragging everyone else down, making them feeling sad from reading my posts. I also feel like a whiny cry baby when I go on and on about P and how much he hurt me. But then again, this blog is my coping mechanism. If I need to write about it I should write about it. I just don’t want to get stuck in a vicious cycle where writing about it is actually doing more harm than good.

I also don’t want people to feel sorry for me. In my mind, there’s pretty much nothing more pathetic. Although I do feel like I can be pretty pathetic sometimes when I’m feeling down. I’d rather be inspirational though. I want this to be a success story, not a depressing one. At the same time, I need to be realistic though. Everything’s not always sunshine and flowers. Sometimes you need to weather the storm to see the rainbow.

4 thoughts on “Blogging Conundrums

  1. I don’t think anybody will feel sorry for you. Those who read this know it has made you stronger. And writing about it can’t do more harm than good. I think you still bottle it up and I think getting it out as soon as possible, even if you feel set back, will prevent a set back from it later on. I think you should just type and quit planning. Post it. It’ll get your feelings out and you’ll know they’re being seen instead of staying inside.

  2. I’ve not put up a new blog post due to a combination of writer’s block (I’ve got a dozen or more quarter-done posts sat gathering dust as drafts in my dashboard) and being so damn busy with work.

    I’m sure I’ve said this before, but it’s your blog, so you can go ahead and write whatevertheheck you like on it. If we like what you write, we can say so, or mark it as “Liked” on the post, or follow your blog, or Press your post so that others may be encouraged to read it. If no-one likes it, they don’t have to read it from start-to-finish; the Internet is an equal opportunities writing free-for-all. “Do what thou wilt,” in the words of Aleister Crowley.

  3. I have that same problem sometimes. Then I just write anyway because my blog is basically just a stream of consciousness anyway.

  4. Writing should be ‘for you’, my opinion at least. Perhaps that’s why the posts you labored over weren’t quite as popular as the ones from your heart??
    Dwayne

Leave a Reply

