Men Are Pigs


I have found that around finals everything tends to go to shit. This semester has been no exception. I’m going to make this a two part post. I have no desire to ramble on for 1000 words about everything that went down yesterday. It will probably just make me feel more like crap.

The topic of this post is….men are pigs. I may have attended my last college party last night. They are miserable and desperate. I went to this party with S, our mutual friend is graduating. How do you celebrate graduation? You throw a rager of course. So at this party this guy starts hitting on me. He seems nice at first. Tells me he likes my blonde hair and that I have cute dimples (I’ve heard that one before though). Then he starts telling me about how he has a job as a teacher and he’s more mature than most guys there. I guess he was 23 and visiting his cousin. If you’re so mature why are you at a college party?

So then he asks me how long it’s been since I’ve had a boyfriend. First of all, that’s a personal question. Second, I don’t appreciate anyone that makes me think about P. Especially when I”m trying to have a good time. I decided to be up front and say, “Look dude, if you’re looking for somebody to sleep with I’m not going to do it.” He keeps blahing on about how awesome he is. And how much better he is compared to the other guys there. Then he asks me, “When was the last time you kissed someone?” Again, personal question. I tell him Halloween (that was a crazy night) and affirm that I am NOT going to make out with him. Then he goes, “Well to be honest, I was hoping to bang somebody tonight but I could settle for making out with you.”

That is a direct quote. He actually said that. Was I supposed to be flattered? That he was willing to “settle” for making out instead of a one night stand. Needless to say, I was absolutely disgusted by that. I went away as quickly as possible. I officially can’t wait to get out of here. I just want to go to a place where people aren’t shallow and petty. Does it even exist?

One thought on “Men Are Pigs

  1. There are places as you described and they do exist; be assured that once you’re away from College you’ll stand a far, FAR better chance of finding them too. Unfortunately, like the frog-to-prince ratio, the shallow-to-deep people ratio is pretty high as a general rule, so you may have to kiss a few more metaphorical frogs before you find a deeper pool to go swim in, as it were.

    Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go find an extremely long ladder to get me out of the mixed metaphor flavoured hole I’ve dug myself into…

Leave a Reply

