You Can’t Solve Every Problem


I really can’t wait to graduate. I live such a healthier life when I’m at home. I love Penn State. Penn State is a wonderful school that has done wonderful things for me. It was my rock when I broke up with P. I filled some of the emptiness with Penn State and it really helped me make it through.

This school is toxic though. There is definitely a partying culture. It can consume your entire existence. If I wanted to get drunk every, single night it would be completely socially acceptable. It is so easy to get sucked in. That type of lifestyle is just not for me. I honestly feel like it’s chipping away bits and pieces from me. I’ve been having a ton of fun, but it’s just not me.

I’m ready to get out of here and start living and adult life. We aren’t adults. We’re still kids. I’m ready for something more and something deeper. I also want to find people that are more like me. I haven’t really found them yet. I don’t know why, but I keep making friends with superficial, selfish people. They seem to be drawn to me. Maybe it’s because I listen. I’ve always been a good listener. That seems to be my role. I support people. I prop them up. I help them solve their problems. I guess that’s why self centered people are drawn to me. In a way I indulge their needs.

I need to stop though. These people are taking away from me. I just keep giving more and more trying to help them, trying to fix them. Some people can’t be fixed. And I shouldn’t make it my job anyways. Not every problem can be solved. I shouldn’t try to.

3 thoughts on “You Can’t Solve Every Problem

  1. It’s socially acceptable to drink that much at most schools. I drank 5-7 nights a week for awhile in my party days and nobody thought twice about it. But you make friends with those who you LET approach you. When new people come up to me now, I show complete and utter disinterest unless I’m actually interested. No need to feign liking some person I couldn’t care less about.

  2. I feel the culture at most colleges is similar. It doesn’t necessarily end after college either tho. It really just depends on who you choose to surround yourself with. Hell, I have friends pushing 30 that still go out and party hard 3 nights a week.

  3. Drinking, partying and tertiary education go together like ham, cheese and pickle in sandwiches. My old University has five bars in the Student Union building alone, not forgetting all of the student-friendly pubs and bars in the surrounding area.

    You say you’re a good listener – every considered psychotherapy/psychiatry as a career path? You’re quite right, you can’t fix everyone. As the joke goes, you don’t actually need anyone to help change a light bulb, but the light bulb has to really, really want to change for it to happen. A lot of those hard party-ers in your campus environment don’t want to change, don’t want to stop partying, don’t want to not get wasted several times a week and don’t want to grow up and be responsible yet. I know I was certainly rather feckless when I was in my late teens and early 20s, but I’m a lot older and fair bit wiser now. 🙂

    It’s great to see you blogging once more by the way. I’ve not commented on your new stuff before now, mostly due to time constraints of work more than anything else, but do know that I’ve read every single word you’ve posted.

Leave a Reply

