I Don’t Need Men (And Why I Tell This Lie Every Day)


At this point I’m pretty much convinced that all college aged men are soulless bastards just looking to get laid. I can see some of you rolling your eyes at me already, but I’ve only come to this conclusion after multiple, terrible experiences within the past year. I’m not going to go into any detail on them. I don’t like to whine. I’m also pretty much numb at this point. After the 4th round of being screwed over, I just laughed and shrugged it off. Tears no longer fall from these eyes over any creature with a Y chromosome.

I’m a senior in college and I’ve already joined the leagues of cynical women. That’s kind of depressing. I can’t help but feel the way I do after having the same experience so many times though. I’m a scientist. I form my opinions on facts and experimental evidence. All the “experimenting” I’ve done points to either two things: 1. I have terrible tastes in men or 2. Most men are just looking to get it in. And since I’m a nice, intelligent girl I refuse to believe that #1 is true.

I can’t sit here and pretend that I don’t wish I had love though. Deep down I’m just like every other girl in that regards. I want someone to sweep me off my feet. It’s just easier for me to pretend to be the independent woman who doesn’t give a damn about men. That facade works pretty well. Ever since I developed it guys don’t mess around with me and my friends respect me. My friends also don’t worry about me whenever a guy is an asshole to me. I pretend like I don’t care and they believe it. I’m fine with that. I could never answer all the questions if I let me real feelings show anyways. My new group of friends knows nothing about P. I want it to stay that way. No one in my new life needs to be aware of the demons that lie in the past.

Leave a Reply

