Another Year Older


Tomorrow is my birthday. I’m going to be nineteen. I was thinking about it and I’ve basically been racing the Indy 500 my entire life. I’m two years ahead of my “peers”. They don’t even feel like my peers anymore, because I’m in a completely different world. They just finished their freshmen year of college. I’m applying to medical school and getting ready for senior year. Sometimes I wonder if I’m ready. Maybe I should slow down.

Then I think, well if I slowed down what would I do? Beats me. I could take a year off before I go to med school. I probably will if my MCAT scores don’t come out very well. I’m going to be bored though. Really the only thing you can do with a degree in Biology is be a lab tech or go to some form of graduate/professional school. I’ll probably go to paramedic school if I take a year off. That would be something I would actually enjoy. Making money wouldn’t necessarily be a bad thing. I just already know being a lab tech would be torturous. I don’t know anyone that likes doing the same thing 500 times a day  for forty hours a week.

I was trying to figure out where I was headed and what I actually wanted from life. I don’t want to be all about my career. I’m also pretty sure that only work cannot make you happy. The happiest people I see are the ones with good marriages and kids. I want that some day. Probably not children for a very long time. However, I am pretty positive I will have kids. I’m also pretty positive I will get married. Although thinking about that stuff freaks me out. I’m already far enough ahead as is. I need to get through the MCAT and these applications before I start thinking about the next step.

Leave a Reply

