What I Wish I Could Say


I am not fragile. You are not going to break me. You could not even put a dent in this strong fortress I’ve put around my heart. Do not tip toe around me. Say what is on your mind. I can take it. Stop being a coward. Stop being afraid of my reaction. You have no idea what I’ve been through. No idea what I can handle. I am one of the strongest. You have yet to realize that. I have yet to show you.

I have yet to give you a glimpse into my dark past. How can I expect you to understand my strength when you have no idea what I’ve endured? I need to make you understand that I fear nothing, because life has shown me some of the worst in this world. I also know I can survive insurmountable amounts of pain. I can heal and return to normal. I am resilient.

You are naive. You do not know this about me. I can tell you worry about hurting me. I don’t like to be coddled though. You know that at least. Listen to me and let me show you. Maybe then you can understand. It’s something you are going to have to do if you want me. I know it won’t be easy for you to hear. My story will horrify you. However, I hope it will not horrify your perception of me. This is why I haven’t told you. I wanted you to know me before you knew my past. I think it’s time though. We’ve come to a crossroads. This information could decide which path we take.

Leave a Reply

