Worth The Pain


Surgery was successful! At least it seems that way so far. It’s been over twenty four hours and I haven’t had one arrhythmia. It seems very promising. However, that was the most painful thing I have ever experienced.

The original plan was to have me under general anesthesia, stimulate the arrhythmia, map where it was and then cauterize it. Of course, nothing is ever simple with me. They could not stimulate it while I was under so they woke me up. The doctors then proceeded to give me drugs that were essentially caffeine, adrenaline, and this one called atropine which disables the heart’s ability to slow down. I also had catheters in my legs that they were moving around with no local anesthetic. It was horrible. I was finally in so much pain that they did numb my legs.

Of course, the fun was just beginning. My heart felt like it was going to explode. I could barely breath. I thought my saving grace would be when I heard one of the doctors yell, “We got it!” Then I heard someone say, “Give it 5 watts.” One million needles shredded through my chest that were on fire. I thought I was going to die. I started to cry when I heard them say they had to turn it up to 10. I remember that pain being excruciating and blinding. Then I passed out.

The whole medical team that worked on me felt really bad that they essentially had to electrocute me while I was conscious. When I came to, there was an endless rotation of doctors and nurses coming to apologize and making sure I was okay. All of my nurses were especially excellent. I was having issues with my blood pressure whenever I tried to sit up. It would plummet and I would get super nauseated and light headed. The nurses were very patient with me and I really appreciated that. It took me 12 hours to finally be able to sit up on my own.

I got discharged this morning. My legs are still in quite a bit of pain from all the catheters. Overall, I feel much better. The whole ordeal sucked, but it was worth it because I feel fixed. I was very impressed with Penn State Hershey Medical Center. I could definitely see myself going to medical school there. Everyone I encountered there was simply fantastic and the facilities were state of the art. Anyways, I just wanted to let you all know how it went. I have more news with G but that will have to wait until tomorrow. I have to catch up on my sleep.

7 thoughts on “Worth The Pain

  1. I am so glad to hear that it went well and so very sad for the pain you experienced. In the long run this was all for the best and I am so impressed with how you faced it. My prayers are with you that this is the end of the road and something you do not have to go through again.
    Yeah I’m a sinner, but our prayers work just as well because they rarely have to do with ourselves :).
    I am really happy for you.

Leave a Reply

