Memories Hidden In The Dark


These are my dark memories. Memories from the abuse, the trauma, the rape. I wrote them as they came into my mind, in no particular order. It’s not supposed to be coherent or make sense. It won’t make you think. It will make you feel.

Time.

Fear.

The door.

Crying.

Running.

You beg me to stop.

I turn my back.

Table flips over. Broken dishes. Food everywhere.

Fear.

Screams. A fist slams into the wall.

Stop. Please stop.

No. Not another drink.

Grab the bottle. You push me away.

Drunken stumbles.

I’m leaving.

“No. You’ll never leave.”

Run.

Running.

A dark night. No light in sight.

Arms around me. Hand over my mouth.

Muffled screams.

“Keep screaming. No one will hear you.”

Struggle.

Limp with fear.

Handcuffs. No.

Stop. Please stop.

Terror.

Let me go.

Slap. Sting.

“Oh stop whining.”

Pain. Insufferable pain.

Eyes closed. Darkness.

Block everything out.

Subdued whimpers.

You push me off. Freedom.

You pass out.

Retreat to the couch.

Tears.

Empty.

Darkness.

Time.

 

Leave a Reply

