Blog Commenting Etiquette


Apparently, my post last night pissed some people off. I got my first angry comments. I could tell these people were not regular readers, because I had the option of approving their comments. I could also tell they had not read any of my other posts or tried to understand me at all before spewing their angry words at me.

In my opinion, this is completely inappropriate behavior. If I start reading a blog I disagree with, I move on. I don’t write a book in the comment box cursing at that blogger and attempting to make them feel bad about themselves. That’s not what this community is about. We are here to support each other, not bring each other down. If you do disagree with me, I kindly request that you say so in a mature and appropriate manner. If you state your case, rather then fly into a rage, I might see your point and change my mind.

I did not approve the angry comments, obviously. Initially part of me wanted to write an entire post challenging the things they accused me of. I decided against that though. I am not on here to be judged by the way I live my life. I am on here because I went through some hell, I’m trying to get over it and I want to share my story with as many people as possible. I want to learn from others and help in any way I can. I’m a kind person. I don’t do anything with malicious intent. So I implore you, before you decide to post something angry or cruel on someone else’s blog, read more about them and try to really understand them. I think you’ll change your mind.

3 thoughts on “Blog Commenting Etiquette

  1. Personally what i believe is that we should accept both good and bad comments, because if we get angry and don’t accept their comments and if we only want to see “you’re cool, keep writing” type of comments we are no better than the rest of them.

    everybody has his or her own ideas, but if we are mature we should be able to handle both good and bad comments, correct our mistakes and move forward because everyone is not perfect and we all make mistakes. Cheers.

    • I agree with you. I believe I said above that I have no problem with people who disagree with me as long as they present their views in a mature manner. This post was more directed at those who comment by insulting and using profanities.

  2. Thank you for not finding my comment offensive. I know I can come off as cold and text can be hard conveying a sense of compassion while voicing on opinion. I would like to note as a newbie I read quite a handful of your posts and scanned others. But as I find it awkward to comment on personal style blogs, I will always wait in moderation!
    I hope you have a lovely day and that you don’t receive any more vial comments. Oh, and congrats! You know you’ve made it as a blogger when you piss someone off 😀

Leave a Reply

