A Tribute To Joe Paterno


Moments ago, I received some very grave news. Joseph Paterno, the figurehead of my university, is dead. I felt the need to write about him. About how much we love him here, and how he did not deserve to die the way that he did. He was a great man, and he did so much for Penn State that was never recognized by the media. Just last month, after he was fired, he and his wife made a 100,000 dollar donation to the university. He lived for our school, and you could hear the love for each and every one of the students every time he spoke.

I feel that this man was done a great injustice by the Board of Trustees at Penn State. The Sandusky situation was terrible, but his head was placed on the chopping block simply for being the icon of our university. He did exactly what he was supposed to do with the information presented to him. People above him failed, yet he had to carry the weight of all the blame on his shoulders. The fact that he died still carrying this hurts me, and it hurts every other student at this school. We want his name cleared, and we want him to be remembered for how great he was. Not just in football, but in all other aspects of life.

“They ask me what I’d like written about me when I’m gone. I hope they write I made Penn State a better place, not just that I was a good football coach.”

– Joseph Vincent Paterno 1924-2012

Leave a Reply

