Sticks And Stones


“Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me.”

Seriously? What genius came up with that one? That statement is about as far from the truth as Rick Perry’s views on global warming. I must confess I am quite a liberal, but this blog is not for politics. I’ve had bones broken, muscles strained and surgery. Physical pain is something I can handle, but there is nothing to protect you from the wounds of someone’s words. Sure you can pretend it doesn’t hurt, but when you’re laying in bed at night your heart will sting.

Our body knows how to repair itself. Via evolution, our cells and immune systems are masters at fixing the problem. Bruises heal quickly. They color, fade and before you know it disappear. We never think of them again. Can you remember the last place you had a bruise that is now healed? Maybe, some of you can if it was recent. But I definitely can’t. Can you remember the last words someone said that hurt you? Oh yes, most definitely. Words can injure the heart in ways we are unable to quickly heal from. There is nothing to protect you from that kind of pain, no mechanism that can hastily make it go away and no matter how hard you try some words cannot be forgotten. They brand and make a lasting imprint on the soul.

 

5 thoughts on “Sticks And Stones

  1. I have major issues forgetting things said to me. Words hurt much longer than physical wounds. Hell, I still remember something mean a neighborhood kid said to me when I was 6 or 7. How crazy is that?

Leave a Reply

