Appreciation For My Fellow Bloggers


I just want to say thank you to everyone out there who follows me, comments and supports. Writing that letter last night was hard. I had concerns about sounding like a whiner or overly angry. But I woke up to great comments from you guys and I felt so much better about it. All that got me thinking about how much we support each other, yet most us of have never even met.

I have never in my life thought that I was a good writer. English was always my worst subject and in high school I regularly got D’s on papers. That was mostly because I refused to follow the format my school forced everybody to write in. I always wanted to be an A student, but I could not tolerate the restraints they put on my writing. Needless to say, I’ve been surprised by how many positive comments I’ve gotten about my writing quality. I really appreciate it. It’s definitely helped to improve my confidence when I post on this blog.

I think we all need one another in some way. Many of us are just looking for an affirmation that we aren’t alone in this world. We prop each other up when we’re going through tough times with positive comments and the like button. Sometimes I think it means more when a random stranger offers advice and tells you it’ll be okay then it does when your friends do it. In some ways, our friends are obligated to support us. It is part of the title of friend. We feel good when a new person comments because they are in no way obligated to comfort us. They could have just as easily moved on to the next blog.

I also want all of you to know that I will be here to support you, just as you have supported me. I desire for each and every one of you to be happy, and recover from the unfortunate ordeals that life has dealt you. Keep writing. Don’t ever give up. It will get better. It may have to get worse first, but life will improve. You’ll find that special someone. They’re out there. You just have to have a little faith.

7 thoughts on “Appreciation For My Fellow Bloggers

  1. Of the few people I follow, I check your blog pretty much every day. I love reading your stuff. You make a good point that this isn’t high school English class anymore. You write whatever you want. There is no required subject, format, or whatever. I look forward to something new every day, your blog included.

    Keep writing.

  2. While I don’t blog nearly as much as I used to in the days of MySpace being the “in” thing, there have been tons of stuff rattling around in my head with the muse being fickle and petulant on her better days. However, I have found much pleasure in reading what the both of you have written. “Pleasure” not in the perverse joy most people get watching “Reality” shows (Not. Going. There…not my thread…), but the comfort that there are others out there with the appreciation of the details of their lives and how to best communicate it.
    Being in a turbulent and transitional time has been…cleansing…for me, but perhaps your words will be the taser that pins that capricious imp that is inspiration to the keyboard and gets her typing…

  3. I agree. I blogged for 10 years, starting from when I was 14. The website was shut down but I followed people’s blogs for years (this was actually before “blogging,” we just called them journals) and years. Some of us read each other’s for the entire 10 years and now we’re facebook friends. I used to love reading all their comments every day and seeing the input. I still value seeing what others have to say about my life because it’s always another perspective.

  4. I have one follower and one “like” on a blog. My day was made when I received each notification. You’re most definitely right, knowing a complete stranger somewhere out there feels the need to read your writings or comment on your life is extremely comforting. Nobody wants to be alone.

  5. You write well, don’t ever stop.

    Likewise, it feels good to meet new people online that share a love for writing and helping others. The story of your life, is often the experiences of another. We all have something that someone else needs. Encouragement and acknowledgement does a heart good.

    Stay strong!
    Peace

  6. I agree completely. It makes a difference knowing that there are other people who are going through the same kinds of things you are and feeling the same things. Keep on blogging šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

