Thoughts On The New Year And Life In General


Okay so it seems like everyone is writing either a reflection of 2011, resolutions for 2012 or something in between that. I promise that this will not be either of those. I’ve been reading so many posts about how people are going to commit to changing and do this and that differently next year and blah blah blah… It’s not that I don’t appreciate the effort to change. That’s fantastic. Change your life. I’m doing it. But I don’t think you should need the start of a “new year”  to make those decisions. Make them on an average day, a random Wednesday for example. That’s when you know it’ll stick. It’s almost a fad in a way. “Okay it’s a new year I suppose I should make some resolutions like everyone else and commit to them for a few weeks before going back to my old self.”

I’m sorry for being so cynical. I’m not against new years resolutions. I’m just against the millions of people that make them and don’t stick to them. I’m also against the people that can only think about changing the negative aspects of their life one day of the year. I do have a resolution though. Get into med school. It’s short and sweet, not very simple though. But I promise you I will dedicate the next year to this resolution. I think that’s what most people don’t think about when they make them. They’re only seeing into the month of January. Not all of the months that come after.

This will probably be my last post before the new year. I hope everybody out there has a fun, happy, safe night. To my readers, subscribers and commenters I’d just like to say thank you. You all help me and support me more than you can ever know. Because of you I know that even when I’m feeling most alone, I’ll always have this blog to come back to. Happy New Year everybody!

One thought on “Thoughts On The New Year And Life In General

  1. I haven’t kept a New Years resolution yet. However, I agree that committing to change should be an everyday process. Waiting for a certain day or year to change only serves to allow more excuses not to change. We tend to justify our behaviors when we have too much time to think about them.

    I thank God for strength to make changes in my life, one day at a time, one second at a time. Without Him, I could not accomplish my goals, and it is His strength upon which I rely. My feeble strength fails me every time.

    Happy New Year? Happy is fleeting. I prefer a blessed year filled with Divine favor. Now that is change that I can strive for, and obtain through obedience to His will.

    Peace

Leave a Reply

