Pre-Med Stress


Today I’ll be diverging from my normal talk of men, because right now I have other stresses on my mind. Med school is cut throat. As I get closer and closer to the date where I need to apply (this summer), I find myself feeling more and more stressed out about it. Right now, I’m applying for biomedical research internships. I have a lot of research experience. I’ve even been published. But at the moment my GPA is not the greatest. Besides me, it suffered the most from my relationship with P. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not poor by normal standards. I have a 3.44 and I got a 3.65 last semester. But med school is like the NFL of academia. You have to be perfection. I fear that my experience won’t be enough to get me these internships because my GPA reflects poorly on me. And if I don’t have an internship this summer, my application for med school will look even poorer. There’s no way to explain on an application that the reason my grades dropped was because I was depressed and in an abusive relationship. That’s not even an excuse anyways. It was certainly a contributing factor though.

This semester I’m determined to do even better. I have to put 100% of my focus on getting into med school. I’ll be getting certified as an EMT, studying hard for the MCAT and competing on the synchronized swimming team. There’s going to be a lot less fun, but hopefully it will all pay off in the end. I really want this. The more I think about it the more I want it. It’s up to me now to get it.

Leave a Reply

